About Us

Founded in 1982, Food Animal Concerns Trust (FACT) is a national nonprofit organization based in Chicago that promotes humane and healthy farms through science-based advocacy, consumer education, and support for humane farmers.  FACT believes that all farm animals should be granted adequate space, access to the outdoors, clean water and air, the opportunity to express their natural behaviors, and safe feed.
read more

Latest News

UPCOMING WEBINARS

Fencing: Getting It Right! 

Date: Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Time: 7-8:30pm CST/ 8-9:30pm EST
Cost: Free!

In this webinar you can discover the ins and outs of fencing for livestock: planning, placement, and practicality of making fence. You’ll learn about fence types, mental and physical barriers, resources, costs, and preparation. You’ll also get to see how to use various fencing materials. Expert presenter Randy Cutler and his wife, Sally, have a 227-acre farm in central Wisconsin with sheep, beef, poultry, and vegetables. Randy established Cutler Fence over 10 years ago to work directly with farmers and promote rotational grazing. Register today!

Food Labels 101:  How To Make Humane Choices at the Grocery Store

June 3 @ 12 pm CST/1 pm EST
June 10 @ 6 pm CST/7 pm EST
Cost: Free!

Food labels can often be confusing and misleading, even for the informed shopper. Have no fear, we’re here to help! Join FACT for a free hour-long webinar that will give you the tools to make the best food choices possible. In this webinar, Lisa Isenhart & Larissa McKenna of FACT will explain what makes bad labels bad and show you how to avoid some notorious labeling traps. You’ll walk away with tips that will help you find the most meaningful and welfare-friendly labels in the store!  Register today!

Tyson cuts antibiotics in chickens, are hogs next?

FACT’s long standing work on eliminating the routine use of antibiotics in food animals is starting to pay off with big changes in the way chickens are raised. Now we need to start putting more effort into turkeys, pigs, and cattle. FACT’s Food Safety Director Steve Roach can be heard on NPR Marketplace discussing what it will take for cattle producers to make the change. Listen here!